Mini-Review Roundup: The Personal MBA, Platform, & Indie/Small Press #BookMarketing (#AmReading)

20130611-111336.jpg

The Personal MBA: Master the Art of Business by Josh Kaufman

I’m a fan of the bootstrap approach to education, even as I also appreciate formal credentials and the work that often goes with them, so I was excited to find this book. It is truly encyclopedic without getting bogged down in (or, at least, without under-explaining) business jargon. It does feel a bit like a hodge-podge and like surface comprehensiveness sometimes trumps useful depth, but it’s a nice addition to a home set of business reference books. If you’re looking for accessible depth on key business topics, I’d again refer you to “Understanding Michael Porter” by Joan Magretta, which I mentioned in my post on competition and the business of writing.

Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World by Michael Hyatt

I know why this book is lauded. There’s some great content in here. It does, however, read rather like what much of it is – a collection of blog posts. It could have just been called “50 Things You Need to Know About Platforms,” a single blog post that would index the rest by topic. Now, maybe I’ve just been reading too much in this topic and often related startup advice these days, but most of this info is already discussed in so many places – for free. It makes me wonder if Hyatt is somewhat a victim of his own success with these ideas. Maybe he was the chicken who laid the whole platform egg, I can’t tell. At this point, though, I’d say that if you are only going to pick up one book on this topic or if you are unlikely to wander the internet, reading even just a handful of related blogs, then absolutely get this. If you are already hip deep in these issues, you can probably skip it, but, for the completists out there, since it’s kind of a classic in the field now, it’s worth picking up.

Indie & Small Press Book Marketing by William Hertling

This is actually a small but mighty little book that encapsulates both the key strategies and more detailed tactics of successfully marketing a book. True, it sometimes reads like an ebook-first text (complete with a few links that you obviously can’t open in a paperback version and some spots in need of copy editing), but the information that many other books take 20 pages to provide, this book does in 2 or less. I can’t say yet whether it is “The Book to Buy” on this topic, since I still have a whole stack of related books to go through, but I can say that NONE in my stack are this concise (less than 100 pages) while remaining informative. So, if you want a quick, logically structured, super-handy little marketing book, or even just want a great place to start, then this is an excellent book to pick up! I was excited about this book and it didn’t disappoint!


Current Reads: I’ve picked up some classic and fresh new fantasy books, which I’ll discuss in an upcoming post, as well as both Stephen King’s “On Writing” and Sol Stein’s “Stein on Writing.” (Yes, I do tend to read multiple books at once, switching based on my mood.) Everyone keeps recommending the King book, but the Stein one feels more readable and enjoyable for me right now. Am I missing something? Is this about me being more of an editor at heart and/or not actually being much of a Stephen King fan? (This is actually the third time I’ve tried to get into the King book and I still don’t know if I’ll finish it!)

~A23
@Aequanimitas23

One thought on “Mini-Review Roundup: The Personal MBA, Platform, & Indie/Small Press #BookMarketing (#AmReading)

Leave a Reply

